who we are.

About Us


Oregon Water Stories is a project designed by Professor Melissa Haeffner for the 2018 Freshman Inquiry class, Human/Nature at Portland State University. The goal of the project is to gather stories from around the state of Oregon that relates to the modern relationship between humans and water. Future classes will add new articles. Applied Linguistics professor Janet Cowal and her graduate students in the Critical Discourse Analysis class will be analyzing the data to advance our understanding of interactions with water among different cultural groups in Oregon. Stay tuned for updates!


Below are links to the portfolios of the students involved in the project. We would like to extend a special thank you to Environment Oregon. Environment Oregon is a statewide, non-profit environmental advocacy organization that works to protect clean air, clean water, and open spaces for all Oregonians. Thank you to Jackson Voelkel in the PSU Geography Department for building the interactive map on the Oregon Water Story website. Tyler Broman developed the website. The peer mentor for this section was Tatyana Stangell.


Click on the students’ name below to see their portfolio

2020 students

Peer mentor: Taylor McAllister

Abdullah Alfadhli

Firas Al Harthy

Ahmed Al Harrasi

Hamad Alotaibi

Al Mahanad (Mohannad) Al Shaqsi

Maath AlShmali

Mardas Alsuleimani

Ashani Fernando

Benton Hoge

Emma McComb

Tenzin Palzom

Jordan Poytner

Demontre Thomas

Wenjing (Emily) Yang


2019 students

Peer mentor: Naureen Khan

Mohamed "Mo" Al Braiki

Abdul Aziz Al Bulushi

Shadha Saif Hamed Al Kharusi

Ali Al Lawati

Al Khatab Al Rashdi

Saud AlDoukhi

Moneerah Alhamazi

Ali Aljaroodi

Adam Allina

Murtada Almohaimid

Jasem Alnajdy

Owen Carey

Jeremiah Fullmer

Courtney La Verne

Gerardo Mendez Garcia

Vuthea Ouk

Mark Pace

Alisa Thoma-Hilliard

Dalina Tran

Taylor Vu

Zhixuan "Ella" Xiang

2018 students

Peer mentor: Tatyana Stangell

Noor Alani,

Charla Bigelow,

Tyler Broman,

Sarah Do,

Addison Edwards,

Eden Elchaiani,

Kasey Farace,

Max Halverson,

Ryan Holt,

Shelby Kunert,

Brian Le,

Thao Le,

Jesse Marshall,

Hanako Miller,

Calvin Mounemack,

Valerie Nguyen,

Raneem Obeidi,

Akira Peterson-Geigle,

Drew Phillips,

Jasmyne Porreco,

Natalie Robinson,

Daniel Salewski,

Sasha Slepoy,

Willow Stupasky,

Taylor Such,

Quinn Wildschut

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now